Cinema Station

The Quote Board | June 26, 2012

The Quote Board

This is the section where we record the words from filmmakers living and dead that we think and hope will provoke, inspire and perhaps challenge new and not- so- new filmmakers in one way or another.

 

If it can be written or thought it can be put on film.

 

A filmmaker has the same freedom as a novelist has when he buys some paper.

 

Here’s to five miserable months on the wagon and the irreparable harm that it has caused me.

– Stanley Kubrick (1928 -1999)

 

*****

 

I steal from every movie ever made.

 

To me movies and music go hand in hand. When I’m writing a script, one of the first things I do is find the music I’m going to play for the opening sequence.

 

I’m not a Hollywood basher because enough good movies come out of the Hollywood system every year to justify its existence without apologies’.

-Quentin Tarantino

 

*****

 

I don’t believe in censorship.

 

If there’s a specific resistance to women making movies, I just choose to ignore that as an obstacle for two reasons: I can’t change my gender and I refuse to stop making movies.

 

My movement from painting to film was a very conscious one.

 

I like high impact movies.

Kathryn Bigelow

 

*****

 

Cinema is a matter of what’s in the frame and what’s out.

 

I can’t really envision a time when I’m not shooting something.

 

Every year or so I try to do something (acting); it keeps me refreshed as to what’s going on in front of the lens, and I understand what the actor is going through.

-Martin Scorsese

*****

A lot of the time you get credit for stuff in your movie you didn’t intend to be there.

 

All directors are storytellers, so the motivation was to tell the story I wanted to tell. That’s what I love.

 

Fight the power that be. Fight the power!

 

I live in New York City, the stories of my films take place in New York; I’m a New York filmmaker.

– Spike Lee

 

*****

 

What we now have a new Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.

– Over population

– Science

-Technology

and

– The Media

-Luis Bunuel (1900-1983)

 

*****

 

I dream for a living.

 

Every time I go to a movie it’s magic no matter what the movie’s about.

 

I like the smell of film. I just like knowing that there’s film going through the camera.

 

I’m really not interested in making money.

 

People have forgotten how to tell a story. Stories don’t have a beginning, a middle and an end anymore. They usually have a beginning that never stops beginning.

 

When I grow up, I still want to be a director.

 

– Steven Spielberg

 

*****

 

I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it through not dying.

 

If my films don’t show a profit, I know that I’m doing something right.

 

Life doesn’t imitate art. It imitates bad television.

 

I’m such a good lover because I practice a lot on my own.

 

As a poet said “Only God can make a tree” probably because it’s so hard to figure how to get the bark on.

 

I want to tell you a terrific story about oral contraception. I asked this girl to sleep with me and she said no.

-Woody Allen

 

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

