Cinema Station

Noir Dialogue | June 22, 2010

Body Heat

Ned walks up to Matty.  They are strangers.

Ned: You can stand here with me if you want but you’ll have to agree not to talk about the heat.

Matty: I’m a married woman.

Ned: Meaning what?

Matty: Meaning I’m not looking for company.

Ned: Then you should have said, ‘I’m a happily married woman’.

Matty: That’s my business.

Ned: What?

Matty: How happy I am.

Ned: And how happy is that?

Matty: You’re not too smart are you?

She starts to walk away.

Matty: I like that in a man.

Ned: What else do you like?  Lazy? Ugly? Horny? I got ’em all.

Matty: You don’t look lazy.  Tell me, does chat like this work with most women?

Ned: Some, if they haven’t been around much.

Matty: I wondered, thought maybe I was out of touch.

Ned: Can I buy you a drink?

Matty: I told you.  I’ve got a husband.

Ned: I’ll buy him one too.

Matty: He’s out of town.

Ned: My favorite kind, we’ll drink to him.

Matty: Only comes up on weekends.

Ned: I’m liking him better all the time.

She stubs out her cigarette.

Ned: You better take me up on this quick.  In about forty five minutes, I’m going to give up and go away.

Body Heat (1981), written and directed by Lawrence Kasdan.

-TM

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

